Research News

Doctoral student recognized for outstanding journalism history research

UNC School of Journalism and Mass Communication doctoral student Laura Marshall won two awards, including Outstanding Paper on Media and War, at the annual American Journalism Historians Association (AJHA) conference Oct. 9-11 in St. Paul, Minnesota.

NIH-funded project at UNC to see if texts, games and web portals can increase HPV vaccination

Joan Cates will lead a team to communicate the importance of vaccinating against the most common sexually transmitted infection in the U.S.

Professor, Ph.D. student awarded $10k grant to study sexual health risk and media

Doctoral student Elise Stevens and associate professor Francesca Dillman Carpentier received a grant from AEJMC's Mass Communication and Society Division.

UNC at AEJMC 2014 in Montréal

Twelve faculty members, 14 grad students, one staff member and nearly 40 alumni represented UNC at the 2014 AEJMC convention in Montréal Aug. 6-9.

Alum wins AEJMC award for best mass communication dissertation

Scott Parrott, a 2013 UNC doctoral graduate, was honored with AEJMC’s Nafziger-White-Salwen Dissertation Award for best mass communication dissertation. It marks the third consecutive year a UNC student has won the award.

Riffe honored by AEJMC for commitment to mass comm research

Richard Cole Eminent Professor Dan Riffe received the Eleanor Blum Distinguished Service to Research Award during the 2014 AEJMC convention in Montréal.

Professors’ work for responsible media coverage of sex trafficking honored with AEJMC feminist advocacy award

UNC School of Journalism and Mass Communication professors Barbara Friedman and Anne Johnston won the Donna Allen Award for Feminist Advocacy for The Irina Project, which they co-direct, and its advocacy for the responsible and accurate reporting of sex trafficking.

Doctoral student wins Google Policy Fellowship to work on technology policy and regulatory reforms

Liz Woolery, a Ph.D. student in the UNC School of Journalism and Mass Communication, has been awarded a Google Policy Fellowship to work at the New America Foundation's Open Technology Institute in Washington, D.C., during summer 2014.

Doctoral alumna wins award for top health communication dissertation

Jessica Gall Myrick, a 2013 doctoral alumna, won the 2014 Doctoral Dissertation Award given by the health communication divisions of the International Communication Association (ICA) and the National Communication Association (NCA). It marks the second time in as many years that a J-school doctoral graduate has won the award.

Two J-school faculty members selected for Thorp Faculty Engaged Scholars program

Two UNC School of Journalism and Mass Communication professors — Barbara Friedman and Anne Johnston — were among nine University faculty members selected as the fifth class of Thorp Faculty Engaged Scholars