Carolina wins back-to-back national championships in collegiate journalism

Hearst Journalism AwardsThe UNC School of Journalism and Mass Communication finished first overall in the Intercollegiate Competition of the Hearst Journalism Awards, often called the Pulitzers of college journalism, for the second year in a row. The win was announced during a June 8 ceremony in San Francisco. December 2010 graduate Arkasha Stevenson won the individual national championship in photojournalism, and senior Margaret Cheatham Williams won the individual national championship in multimedia.

The school's overall first-place finish resulted from students placing in monthly writing, photojournalism, broadcast and multimedia competitions during the 2010-11 school year. The school placed second nationally in both broadcast news and photojournalism and 12th in writing in the intercollegiate competition. Points from multimedia competitions counted toward the overall win, but no places were awarded in the category.

“It’s wonderful to win in consecutive years, and I’m particularly proud that this overall win represents the work of many students from across the school,” said Dean Jean Folkerts. “The win speaks to the balanced strengths of the wide-ranging journalism program at Carolina.”

Four UNC journalism students — Stevenson (photojournalism), Williams (multimedia), Justin Page (television) and Michael Tomsic (radio) — joined 22 other national finalists in San Francisco to demonstrate their skills in on-the-spot assignments and compete for additional awards. For placing first, Stevenson and Williams each received a $5,000 award. Page finished third in the television broadcast news championship, winning a $3,000 award. Tomsic received $1,500 for placing fourth in radio broadcast news.

May 2010 graduate Carly Brantmeyer received a $1,000 award for the best single photograph in this year’s Hearst Journalism Awards competitions.

Students placing in this academic year’s Hearst monthly competitions include:

Carly Brantmeyer
Second Place, Picture Story/Series, Photojournalism

Alexandra Brawley
Eight Place, Picture Story/Series, Photojournalism

Jessey Dearing
Fourth Place, Portrait/Personality, Feature and “Personal Vision,” Photojournalism
Fifth Place, News, Multimedia

Sarah Frier
Sixth, Opinion Writing

Caitlyn Greene
Sixth Place, News, Multimedia

Joelle Kaplan
Sixth Place,  Television News, Broadcast News

Reema Khrais
Sixth Place, Radio Feature, Broadcast News

Stephen Mitchell
Eighth Place, News and Sports, Photojournalism

Justin Page
Fifth Place, Television News, Broadcast News

Arkasha Stevenson
Second Place, Portrait/Personality, Feature and “Personal Vision,” Photojournalism
Second Place, Features, Multimedia

Michael Tomsic
Second Place, Radio Feature, Broadcast News

Margaret Cheatham Williams
First Place, Features, Multimedia