Roy H. Park Lecture Series

The Roy H. Park Distinguished Lecture Series began in October 1999. Sponsored by the Triad Foundation of Ithaca, N.Y., the lectures enhance the Roy H. Park Fellowship Program that began in the school in fall 1997. The fellowships go to new doctoral and master's students in the school each year.

The lecture series brings outstanding mass communication professionals to the campus each year with the goal of enriching the educational experience of undergraduate and graduate journalism students, and presenting speakers of interest to the campus and beyond.

The lecture series honors Roy H. Park, the founder, chairman and chief executive officer of Park Communications Inc., which became an expansive multimedia company with broadcast and print properties throughout the U.S.

The Roy H. Park Distinguished Lecture Series has presented the following speakers:


Tucker Carlson Tucker Carlson, political commentator for Fox News Sunday, April 12, 2018
Chris Wallace, anchor of Fox News Sunday, April 6, 2017
Brit Hume, senior political analyst for Fox News, April 7, 2016
Peggy Noonan Peggy Noonan, columnist for The Wall Street Journal, April 9, 2015
Dana Perino Dana Perino, former press secretary to President George W. Bush and Fox News host, April 10, 2014
Arthur C. Brooks Arthur C. Brooks, president of the American Enterprise Institute (AEI), April 11, 2013
Roger Ailes Roger Ailes, chairman and CEO of Fox News, April 12, 2012
David Kirkpatrick David Kirkpatrick, author of "The Facebook Effect," "Ten Lessons from Facebook," April 7, 2011
PJ O'Rourke P.J. O'Rourke, author and political satirist, "The Government vs. The Citizenry: Which Is Worse?," April 8, 2010
Jason Kilar Jason Kilar, CEO, Hulu, "Sex, Lies & Online Video: From Howell Hall to Hulu," Oct. 14, 2009
Alan Murray Alan Murray, a deputy managing editor and executive editor for online, The Wall Street Journal, "The Future of Newspapers: Some Light at the End of a Very Long Tunnel," April 2, 2009
Ken Lowe Ken Lowe, chairman, president and CEO, Scripps Networks Interactive, "An Evolving Paradigm: Media in the Interactive Age," Sept. 11, 2008
Rich Beckman Rich Beckman, James L. Knight professor of visual communication, UNC School of Journalism and Mass Communication, "The Road Less Traveled: Changing the World One Story at a Time," April 10, 2008
Deborah Platt Majoras Deborah Platt Majoras, chairman, Federal Trade Commission, "The Role of Truthful Information in the Marketplace," Oct. 11, 2007
Charles Krauthammer Charles Krauthammer, columnist, The Washington Post Writers Group, "The View from the Swamp: Washington in the Twilight of the Bush Administration," April 12, 2007
Jonathan Alter, senior editor, Newsweek, and NBC News contributing correspondent, "Between the Lines: Politics, Media and Society," Oct. 23, 2006
Dan Wieden Dan Wieden, CEO and co-founder of Wieden + Kennedy advertising, "Walk in Stupid Every Morning," April 18, 2006
Penelope Muse Abernathy Penelope Muse Abernathy, senior vice president of international and development, The Wall Street Journal, "Circling the Globe: No Cakewalk for the Media," April 6, 2005
Brenda Buttner Brenda Buttner, Fox News senior business correspondent, "Tuning Into Viewers: What’s Wrong With the Customer Being Right?" Oct. 5, 2004
Helen Thomas Helen Thomas, syndicated columnist, Hearst News Service, "Covering History from President Kennedy to President Bush II," Nov. 24, 2003
Joie Chen Joie Chen, CBS News correspondent, "Tuning Out: Will Young Viewers Choose Jon Stewart Over the Evening News?" Oct. 9, 2003
Jim Roberts Jim Roberts, national editor, The New York Times, "How The New York Times Covers the Nation," Nov. 18, 2002
Marvin Kalb Marvin Kalb, senior fellow at Harvard University’s Joan Shorenstein Center for the Press, Politics and Public Policy and faculty chair for the John F. Kennedy School of Government’s Washington Programs, "Journalism Since 9/11: When Are We Going to Get Serious?" Oct. 14, 2002
William Safire William Safire, columnist, The New York Times, "What’s Going to Happen in Washington," April 16, 2002
George Stephanopoulos George Stephanopoulos, ABC News analyst, "Politics: The Art of the Impossible — A View From Washington," Feb. 5, 2002
Sandra Mims Rowe Sandra Mims Rowe, editor, The Oregonian, "Journalism’s Renewed Sense of Mission: Will it Last?" Nov. 13, 2001
Doug Marlette Doug Marlette, editorial cartoonist, "Political Cartooning and the 2000 Election," Oct. 26, 2000
Charles Lewis Charles Lewis, founder and executive director, Center for Public Integrity, Washington, D.C., "The Buying of the President 2000,"  Feb. 17, 2000
Joann Burkholder Joann M. Burkholder, professor of aquatic ecology and marine sciences, Department of Botany, N.C. State University, "The Critical Role of  Journalists in Environmental Science, Education and Ethics,"  Oct. 19, 1999