Board of Advisers

About the Board of Advisers

The Board of Advisers serves by advising the dean and helping to advance and support the school to ensure its reputation as a leading media and journalism school. Members of the board help identify and define changes in industry that will inform the direction of the school strategy, inspire advancements in curriculum and serve the faculty who are shaping the next generation of media leaders.

The School of Media and Journalism has three volunteer-driven boards — the Foundation Board, Board of Advisers and Media and Journalism Alumni Association Board — that assist in furthering the mission of the school. They share a common goal to raise funds and resources to support the school; raise awareness of the school’s mission, activities and achievements; provide advocacy for the school; and advise the school’s leadership.

Board members


Edward H. Vick
A.B. Journalism '66
Retired Chairman and CEO
Young and Rubicam


Karen Albritton
A.B. Journalism '84
President and CEO
Capstrat, Inc.

Joe Benton
Executive Producer
NASA Television

Gwendolyn "Wendy" Bounds
A.B. Journalism and Mass Communication '93
Head of Video and TV
Consumer Reports

Ann Caulkins
President and Publisher
The Charlotte Observer

Jacqueline Charles
A.B. Journalism and Mass Communication '94
Caribbean Correspondent
Miami Herald

Lisa Church

Brandon Cooke
A.B. Journalism and Mass Communication '02 
Global Chief Communications Officer

Susan Credle
A.B. Journalism '85
Global Chief Creative Officer
Foote, Cone & Belding

Sabrina Crow
M.A. Journalism '90
Mobile, Data and Media Consultant


Joel Curran
A.B. Journalism '86
Vice Chancellor for Communications and Public Affairs

Donald W. Curtis
A.B. Journalism '63
Chairman and CEO
Curtis Media Group

Tom Davidson
B.A. Journalism
General Manager

Greg Efthimiou
M.A. Mass Communication '08
Vice President of Corporate Communications
Bank of America Merchant Services

Clyde Ensslin
Financial Services Professional
Capitol Financial Partners

Ken Eudy
A.B. Journalism '75
Capstrat, Inc.

Joyce Fitzpatrick
A.B. Journalism '76
Fitzpatrick Communications

John B. Frank
A.B. Journalism and Mass Communication '04
Political Reporter
The Denver Post

Randall Fraser
Independent Telecommunications Professional

Robert Friedman
M.A. Communication: Radio, Television & Motion Picture  '78

Deborah S. Fullerton
A.B. Journalism '85
Chief Marketing Officer and Vice President
AMITA Health

Sam Fulwood
A.B. Journalism '78,
Senior Fellow
Center for American Progress

Shailendra Ghorpade
Ph.D. Mass Communication Research '86
Head of Institutional Operations

William "Bill" Goodwyn
A.B. Journalism '82
President and CEO, Discovery Education
Discovery Communications LLC

Steve Hammel
VP and General Manager

Wade Hargrove
B.A. Radio Television & Motion Picture '62
Senior Partner
Brooks Pierce et al

Bryant Haskins
A.B. Journalism '74
Strategic Communications Consultant
Otter Creek Communications

Meg Merrill Holt
A.B. Journalism '79
Worldwide Marketing Manager

Kenny Irby
Senior Faculty
Poynter Institute

Jamie Jacobson
A.B. Journalism '77
VP and Copywriter
Adams and Longino Advertising

Mary Junck
Chairman, President and CEO
Lee Entreprises

Larry Keith
A.B. Journalism '69
Retired Editorial Project Director

Brian Kelly
BEK Ventures LLC

William "Bill" Keyes
Institute for Responsible Citizenship

Jason Kilar
A.B. Journalism and Mass Communication '93
Founder and CEO

David Kirk
M.A. Communication: Radio, Television & Motion Picture '81
Business Development, Digital Solutions
RR Donnelley

Donna Leinward Leger
A.B. Journalism '89
USA Today

Justin Lyons
A.B. Journalism and Mass Communication '06
Senior Campaigner

Draggan Mihailovich
A.B. Journalism '83
Producer/60 Minutes

Janet Northen
Partner Director of Communications

David Oakley
President and Founding Partner
BooneOakley Advertising

Trip Park
A.B. Journalism '89
Trip Park Productions

Roy H. Park Jr.
A.B. Journalism '61
President and CEO
Park Outdoor Advertising

Cathy S. Roche
A.B. Journalism '71
Senior Communications Officer
CSR Group

Merrill Rose
A.B. Journalism '77
Merrill Rose LLC

Susan Ross
A.B. Journalism '78

John Schmidt
A.B. Journalism '89
Schmidt Public Affairs

Jeff Shafer
A.B. Journalism and Mass Communication '93
Vice Chancellor of Communications

Melanie Sill
A.B. Journalism '81
VP for Content, KPCC
Southern California Public Radio

J. Walker Smith Jr.
Ph.D. Mass Communication Research '86
Executive Chairman
Futures Company

Gene Upchurch
A.B. Journalism '78
Retired Consultant
Duke Energy

Stacy Wall
A.B. Journalism '89
Production Company Owner
Imperial Woodpecker

David Woronoff
The Pilot

Updated March 22, 2017

For more information, contact Development and Alumni Affairs Program Coordinator Meghan Jean Matthews at (919) 962-6881 or