N.C. Media and Journalism Hall of Fame 2017

Friday, April 7, 2017 - 6:30pm

The William and Ida Friday Center

About the event

The N.C. Halls of Fame in Journalism, Advertising and Public Relations have been reconstituted as the N.C. Media and Journalism Hall of Fame. In its inaugural gala, all members of the former Halls will be honored along with five 2017 honorees who have made and continue to make outstanding contributions to their fields, serving the professions and society and inspiring and advancing others. The event will benefit the UNC School of Media and Journalism in its critical role developing future leaders in our professions.

The gala will include a reception, dinner and ceremony on Friday, April 7, at 6:30 p.m. at the The William and Ida Friday Center. WRAL-TV anchor David Crabtree will serve as the master of ceremonies. Cocktail attire is suggested.



N.C. Media and Journalism Hall of Fame
Reception, Dinner and Ceremony
Friday, April 7, 2017, at 6:30 p.m.
William and Ida Friday Center
Chapel Hill, North Carolina

2017 Hall of Fame honorees

Lisa Church
President of eMarketer

Lisa Church is the president of eMarketer, a global research firm that enables media, advertising and other companies to understand digital media, marketing and commerce and use credible data and analysis to inform decision-making. A market leading authority, eMarketer has more than quintupled in size under Church’s leadership. She earned her bachelor’s degree and her MBA at UNC and serves on the board of advisers for the UNC School of Media and Journalism. She is also on the board of the Ad Council.

Peter Grauer
Chairman of Bloomberg LP

Peter Grauer has been chairman of the board at Bloomberg since 2001 as the company has grown to become the global leader in financial information, news, data and analytics. Before going to Bloomberg, Grauer was the managing director and senior partner of the investment bank Donaldson Lufkin & Jenrette. He is an alumnus of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and a former member of the University’s board of trustees.

David Oakley
President and Creative Director of BooneOakley

David Oakley is the president and creative director of BooneOakley in Charlotte, North Carolina.  Since founding the agency in 2000, he has led the creative efforts on a diverse client roster including Bojangles’, the Charlotte Hornets, Mellow Mushroom, MTV, HBO and CarMax. He is a UNC alumnus and serves on the  board of advisers for the UNC School of Media and Journalism.


Orage Quarles
Retired President and Publisher of The News & Observer

Orage Quarles III was named president and publisher of The News & Observer in 2000, and led the newspaper until 2016.  During his leadership, there was a huge focus on investigative projects that had major impact.  He was publisher of the Rock Hill Herald in South Carolina, while also overseeing the Beaufort Gazette and the Island Packet in Hilton Head. He was named publisher of the year by trade publication Editor & Publisher in 2002. He has served on the boards of The Associated Press, Newspaper Association of America and currently sits on the Freedom Forum board. Quarles is past chairman of the UNC School of Media and Journalism’s foundation board.


Arthur Sulzberger Jr.
Publisher of The New York Times, Chairman of The New York Times Company

Arthur Sulzberger Jr. was named chairman of The New York Times Company in 1997. He became publisher of The New York Times in 1992 and continues to run the company’s flagship enterprise on a day-to-day basis. Over the past decade, he has shaped and implemented innovative print and online initiatives that are enabling the company to compete successfully in the 21st century global media marketplace. Before going to The New York Times, Sulzberger was a reporter with The Raleigh Times in North Carolina.



Former Halls of Fame honorees

Penelope Muse Abernathy 
John B. Adams 
Bob and Peggy Allen 
Harry Amana
Bonnie Angelo 
Louis Austin
James K. Batten 
Henry Belk
Jack Betts 
Furman Bisher 
David Brinkley 
Jane D. Brown
Jennie Buckner 
W. C. "Mutt" Burton 
Orville Campbell 
Wallace Carroll 
W. Horace Carter 
W.J. Cash
Lenoir Chambers
Jack Claiborne
Reese Cleghorn
Beatrice Cobb 
O.J. "Skipper" Coffin 
Richard Cole 
Willard Cole 
Richard Curtis 
Clifton Daniel 
Frank A. Daniels 
Frank Daniels Jr. 
Frank Daniels III
Jonathan Daniels 
Josephus Daniels 
Burke Davis 
James Davis 
Betty Debnam
Birdie Lee Speight Debnam 
Harriet Doar 
Joseph C. Doster Jr. 
James Edward "Bill" Dowd 
Jim Dumbell 
Vivian Austin Edmonds 
Simmons Fentress 
J.D. Fitz 
Fred J. Flagler 
Ashley B. Futrell 
Mary Garber 
Kays Gary 
David E. Gillespie 
Harry Golden 
James Goodmon 
Bill Green
Ron Green 
Brodie S. Griffith 
Ferrel Guillory 
Margaret Harper 
Lou Harris 
Charles Hauser 
Jim Heavner
Chris Hondros
Lawrence "Jeep" Hunter 
Marjorie Hunter 
James F. Hurley III 
Walter Hussman
Dot Jackson
R. Edward Jackson 
Jay Jenkins 
T.C. Jervay 
Gerald W. Johnson 
William Davis Jones Jr. 
Karen Jurgensen 
Carl Kasell 
Larry Keith 
Charles Kuralt 
Harvey Laffoon 
Tom Lassiter 
William C. Lassiter 
Nell Lewis 
Neil Luxon 
Malcolm Mallette 
Doug Marlette 
Jeff MacNelly 
Robert Mason 
Chris Matthews
Bill McIlwain 
Sam S. McKeel 
C.A. "Pete" McKnight 
Philip Meyer 
Joseph Mitchell
Roger Mudd 
Alan Murray
Rolfe Neill 
Herb O'Keef 
Roy H. Park 
Karen L. Parker
Roy H. Parker Jr. 
Walter Phillips 
Rose Post 
Erwin R. Potts 
Dwane Powell
Gene Price
Bob Quincy 
Sam Ragan 
Dorothy Ridings 
Peter Ross Range 
Gene Roberts 
Wyndham Robertson
Steed Rollins 
Charlie Rose 
Morris W. Rosenberg 
Vermont Royster 
Robert Ruark
Reed Sarratt 
Ellen Scarborough 
Stuart Scott
Andrew "Mac" Secrest 
Donald Shaw
Ray Shaw
Don Shoemaker 
James H. Shumaker 
Claude Sitton 
John Skipper
Irwin Smallwood 
Doug Smith
William D. Snider 
A.C. Snow 
Walter Spearman 
Hugh Stevens 
Pat Stith 
Larry Stogner
Chuck Stone
Don Sturkey 
Sam Summerlin 
Elizabeth Gold Swindell 
M.S. Van Hecke 
David J. Whichard II 
Tom Wicker 
Ed Williams
Jon Witherspoon 
John Woestendiek
William Woestendiek 
Jonathan Yardley 
Ed Yoder 
David A. Zucchino


Susan Credle
Fred D. Crisp Jr. 
Billings Fuess Jr. 
Jean Hodges 
Harry M. Jacobs Jr.
Jim Johnston 
Jason Kilar
Walter J. Klein 
Gene Lewis 
C. Knox Massey 
Charles C. McKinney 
William I. Morton
Jim Mountjoy
Jim Mullen 
Sheila Hale Ogle 
Clifford A. Parish Jr. 
Roy H. Park Jr.
Charles R. Price 
Howard Rockett 
Michael J. Silver 
J. Walker Smith
Kim Stone
Edward Vick 
Stacy Wall
Donald H. Williams 
Michael Winslow 

Frank J. Allston 
Don Baer
Don Bishop 
Roberta Bowman 
Rick Brewer
J. Kenneth Clark 
H.C. Cranford Jr. 
Julie Dixon
Joe S. Epley 
Ken Eudy 
Joyce Fitzpatrick 
John Harden 
Bill Hensley 
C.X. Larrabee 
Hugh M. Morton 
Max Muhleman 
Gary Pearce
Edward L. Rankin Jr. 
Carol Reuss 
H. Zane Robbins 
Merrill Rose 
J. Kenneth Sanford 
Julian W. Scheer 
H.A. "Humpy" Wheeler 
Clarence E. Whitefield
Nancy Neal Young

Presenting sponsors

Capitol Broadcasting Company
Lisa Church
Richard Cole
Peter Grauer
The New York Times 
Ed Vick

Host committee members

  • Karen Albritton
  • Don Baer
  • Natalie Best
  • Wendy Bounds
  • Richard Cole
  • Brandon Cooke
  • Frank Daniels
  • Joyce Fitzpatrick
  • Steve Hammel
  • Jim Heavner
  • Alan Murray
  • Liza Roberts
  • Wyndham Robertson
  • Merrill Rose
  • Susan Ross
  • Walker Smith
  • Ed Vick
  • David Woronoff

For more information

The event will benefit the UNC School of Media and Journalism. Sponsorships and program advertising opportunities available. For more information, please contact Meghan Matthews at meghan@unc.edu.