MJ Day — San Francisco

Date & Time
Tuesday, May 30, 2017 (All day) to Friday, June 2, 2017 (All day)
San Francisco, California
Contact Information
Director of Alumni Affairs and Donor Relations Robin Jackson, rhjackson@unc.edu

Dean Susan King and Senior Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies Charlie Tuggle joined five students in San Francisco for the annual Hearst Journalism Awards to compete for individual championship placement. Winners were announced on Thursday, June 1, by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards Program, during the final awards ceremony in Alexandra’s Ballroom of The Westin St. Francis Hotel.

Claire Collins, a May 2017 graduate from Burlington, won the multimedia competition. Jessica O’Connor, a May 2017 graduate from Concord, won the radio competition. O’Connor also won the top radio story of the year award. Mac Snyder, a Fall 2016 graduate from Charlotte, placed third nationally in the photo competition. Casey Toth, a May 2017 graduate from Cary, placed fifth in multimedia, and John Thomas, a May 2017 graduate from Elizabethtown, placed fifth in radio.

In addition to the individual championships, the MJ-school brought its overall collegiate national championship total to seven — five since 2010 — for the Hearst Journalism Awards Program, more than any other university.