MJAA Board

About the Media and Journalism Alumni Association Board

The Media and Journalism Alumni Association empowers alumni to support the UNC School of Media and Journalism today and into the future. Guided by a group of media industry leaders from across the nation, MJAA harnesses the power of a diverse and talented graduate base to support student development, foster alumni connections and encourage giving to reinforce the School’s reputation as one of the nation’s elite programs.

The MJ-school has three volunteer-driven boards — the Foundation Board, Board of Advisers and Media and Journalism Alumni Association Board — that assist in furthering the mission of the school. They share a common goal to raise funds and resources to support the school; raise awareness of the school’s mission, activities and achievements; provide advocacy for the school; and advise the school’s leadership.

Board members

CO-PRESIDENT:

Justin N. Lyons ’06
Public Relations
Associate Campaigns Director
Change.org
justin@change.org
 

CO-PRESIDENT:

John B. Frank ’04
News-editorial
Political Reporter
The Denver Post
jbfrank@gmail.com
 

MEMBERS:

Kristy Fair Ballentine ’01
Public Relations
Director, Global Corporate Communications
LENOVO
Kristy.Fair@gmail.com
 

Latoya S. Evans ’08
News-editorial
Vice President, Communications Manager, Global Marketing & Corporate Affairs
Bank of America Corporate Headquarters
latoya.s.evans@bankofamerica.com
 

Anna Feagan ’11
Journalism
Executive Communications Lead
Compass
annafeagan@gmail.com
 

Sharon Hamilton ’82
Journalism
Senior Director, Corporate & Foundation Relations
East Carolina University
skhamilton21@gmail.com
 

John J. Hashimoto ’82
News-editorial
Co-Founder & COO
Verio Science & Climate News Studio
john.hashimoto@gmail.com
 

Katie Jokipii ’11
Advertising
Senior Manager, Acquistion & Mass Media
Dollar Shave Club
kjokipii@gmail.com
 

Robby Marshall ’07
Advertising
Brand Director
Global Nike Sportswear@Nike
uncrob@gmail.com
 

JulieAnn McKellogg ’10
Electronic Communication
John S. Knight Fellow
Stanford University
jmckello@stanford.edu
 

Noel McLaughlin ’86 (M.A.)
Journalism
Retired
noelmpr@gmail.com
 

Danita J. Morgan ’81
News-editorial
VP, Development & Communications
Habitat for Humanity Wake County
danitajmorgan@gmail.com
 

Jessica Porter ’17
MyPlan
Deputy Email Director
Democratic National Committee
jessicaporter07@gmail.com
 

Stefan Prelog ’96 (M.A.)
Public Relations
Senior Vice President
Rubenstein
sprelog@rubenstein.com
 

Jeremy C. Spearman ’11
Broadcast/Electronic Communication
Producer, CBS North Carolina
WNCN
jeremy.spearman@gmail.com
 

Brandon Staton ’10
Public Relations
Founder
Shipmint
brandon.k.staton@gmail.com
 

Stephen M. Stock ’83
RTVMP
Investigative Reporter
KNTV NBC Bay Area
Stephen.stock@nbcuni.com
 

Leslie J. Wilkinson ’99
Visual Communication
Senior Product Manager, Mobile
CNN Digital
lesliejwilkinson@gmail.com

 

Updated April 24, 2019

For more information, contact Director of Alumni Affairs and Donor Relations Robin Jackson at (919) 843-2026 or rhjackson@unc.edu.

MJAA BOARD INTEREST FORM