School of Media and Journalism Foundation of North Carolina, Inc.

About the Foundation Board

The School of Media and Journalism Foundation of North Carolina, Inc., serves as the guardian and builder of private resources to support teaching, research and service. Board members provide fiduciary oversight of the Foundation’s assets and steer the school toward a sustainable future with adequate resources by adopting sound ethical and legal governance and financial management policies.

The School of Media and Journalism has three volunteer-driven boards — the Foundation Board, Board of Advisers and Media and Journalism Alumni Association Board — that assist in furthering the mission of the school. They share a common goal to raise funds and resources to support the school; raise awareness of the school’s mission, activities and achievements; provide advocacy for the school; and advise the school’s leadership.

Board members



J. Walker Smith



Elizabeth Park Fowler



Ford Worthy



Susan King



Caroline Beasley
Charles Broadwell
R. Lee Burrows Jr.
Zachary Clayton
John Drescher
Shailendra Ghorpade
Mark Harden
Greg Johnson
Cowles Liipfert
Rachel Davis Mersey
Kimberly Moore
William "Bill" Morton
Walter Phillips
David Sousa
Caroline Welch


Updated March 22, 2017

For more information, contact Development and Alumni Affairs Program Coordinator Meghan Jean Matthews at (919) 962-6881 or